Looking Forward to New Horizons

thK28OJE8Y

As I look forward to the future of working at Baptist Health College Little Rock, I can’t help but realize the possibilities that lie before me, not only in the histology program but what technological changes I can influence in the entire college. I was the first to introduce the idea of utilizing online platform to deliver education online. I am the first program that offers completely distance education at the college. I was the one who initiated the idea of getting an online platform at the college. I want to continue to be the front runner in developing and using new technology innovations in the classroom. I would like to see my course continue to improve in content and in new ways to enhance more technology use.

I am seeking permission to move forward with initiating the first step using the Flip-Pair-Share teaching method coupled with Poll Everywhere software to integrate technology into the histology classroom. I have shown in my Integrating Technology Video the need in our field to bring more technology to the students as the enter a field that is using many technological advances everyday.

I put together a Integrating Technology Implementation Outline that explains the Flip-Pair-Share method and how it uses a type of polling software in the classroom. The outline also takes into considerations the things that I know will happen and the expected outcomes of this new implementation. The Literature Review for Integrating Technology will show you just a few of the articles and videos that I found supporting the method of teaching along with the benefits that can come from giving the students the opportunity to be taught in a whole new way. This new method will not only increase the student’s ability to comprehend the analytical part of the information that they need for their career but it will give them the head start in any job to be the leader they need to be in technology in their laboratory.

Here are a few books that I would plan on reading that will enable me to better understand my students in the classroom as I go forward.

Bogan, B. A., & Ogles, M. R. (2014). Flipping the classroom: Unconventional classroom. Murfreesboro, TN: Unconventional Classroom.

The reason why I want to read this book is because it contains a step-by-step guide on how to flip your classroom as well as unique teaching techniques to make any classroom better suited for the learners of the new generation.

Gerstein, J. (2012). The flipped classroom: The full picture. Estados Unidos: Amazon Digital Services.

The Flipped Classroom: The Full Picture provides a discussion of how videos lectures fall within a larger framework of learning activities and it shows strategies for using technology to support a full cycle of learning and address a full spectrum of learning activities and learning styles. It also shows ideas for using technology to support a broad range of student learning including reflection and demonstration of knowledge.

Mazur, E. (1997). Peer instruction: A user’s manual. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Prentice Hall.

The book Peer Instruction:  A User’s Manual is a step-by-step guide for instructors on how to plan and implement Peer Instruction lectures. The teaching methodology is applicable to a variety of introductory science courses (including biology and chemistry). Also Eric Mazur is the author of this book and the innovator who established the Peer Instruction method of teaching.

Leave a Reply

