My Learning Philosophy

My Concept of Learning

You know, I had never really thought about what my beliefs in learning were until I had to write it down. I was born a middle child which is why I seek and survive on praise coming from anyone that will recognize my accomplishments. This explains my result driven way of learning. I work great if you give me a structured assignment with exact parameters. I can do this assignment exactly by the specific guidelines and I am good. This way of learning and traditional classroom that I grew up in describes why I learn the way I do. I am a skills based learner, if you give me a task with a set of parameters and let me do it over and over again I will perfect it. I can really do this well if there is a mechanical instrument involved. So you could say my beliefs about learning was what I was taught. Let me explain this a little. I only knew of one way that teaching could be done all through my educational years, even in college my Professors would stand in front of the class and postulate until they were blue in the face. All I knew existed in teaching was the traditional style of teaching. The same could be said for learning. I was taught traditionally and so I learned traditionally. I would sit in those classrooms listen to the Professor lecture take notes or highlight in a book then leave and study and memorize as much as possible until I could put as much as I could cram in my brain back on the test. So I guess you could say that teaching and learning go hand in hand. Traditional teaching breeds traditional learners. I know if I was going to teach in a way that stimulates students I had to become a student again.

My Concept of Teaching

An acronym that Don Rodney Vaughan used in his teaching philosophy was APPLE, which stands for:                                                                                                                                                      Get the class’s Attention and keep it. Be Prepared for classes. Check students’ Progress.        Love teaching. Set a good Example for the students.

As I mentioned any example I had growing up was a traditional style of teaching, there may have been one maybe two teachers that did things out of the traditional style that stood out. Those teachers are the ones that I have the most fondness for when I remember the 100 or so teachers I have had in my life. Why? Why would they stand out? It is because of their love for the teaching, subject, and for students. They wanted to see that sparkle a student’s gets when they understand, when things just click. I live for this moment when teaching, if I can lead a student to this moment or help them to recognize it when they get there, those are the reasons that I teach.  Before, I just looked around at other programs that were succeeding or have higher scores and mirror what they were doing. Basically they just were holding the bar higher. So that’s what I would do. I would just hold the students to a higher expectation and they would get higher stores because I just expected them to. It wasn’t because I change what I was doing or how was teaching or delivering information or how I was trying to integrate new things into the lesson to get them to understand it better. It was just by having higher expectations. This has worked but I wasn’t really teaching students I just made them have to study harder to pass an exam.

As previously mentioned the acronym APPLE, I was in the past doing all but the “E”. I had not been a good example for my students. Let me explain, I, the educator, had not study or tried to learn new ways to educate students better over the years so I was not setting the example for the students, but I have come to realize that as an educator I have to be the best student, always learning, challenging myself, and using the grade “not yet” on my own self in order to teach students.

Difference between a learning philosophy and a teaching philosophy?

I do not believe there is a lot of difference in the two philosophies. I mentioned before that I taught in the past the way I had learned in the past. I believe if your learning philosophy hasn’t changed then you teaching philosophy will not change, so in turn your learning philosophy has to adapt just like your teaching philosophy has to adapt.

What learning theory do I connect to?

Constructivism is the learning theory that I see the most connection out of. As a constructivist I use past experience and present state to make sense of what is around me in an attempt to create sense and order out of disorder. I use what I see and what I have experienced to solve problems or correct anything that seems out of order. This is my analytical way of thinking.

Will my learning philosophy impact or influence my innovation plan?

Yes, my learning philosophy has changed since starting my Master’s Degree and I know that it will continue to change as I learn more. The development of my learning philosophy is a big part of why I have an innovation plan. These discoveries I have made and continue to make about myself and the changes I am making in my teaching philosophy are helping to drive my innovation plan.

Resources

Learning Philosophy. (2015). Retrieved September 30, 2016, from http://www.harapnuik.org/?page_id=95

Vaughon, D. R. (2016). Philosophy of Teaching Don Rodney Vaughan – UCAT. Retrieved September 30, 2016, from http://ucat.osu.edu/professional-development/teaching-portfolio/philosophy/vaughan-don-rodney/

W. (2014, March 26). What’s Your Learning Philosophy? Retrieved September 30, 2016, from http://www.facultyfocus.com/articles/teaching-professor-blog/whats-learning-philosophy/

Bates, T. (2014, July 29). Learning theories and online learning. Retrieved September 30, 2016, from http://www.tonybates.ca/2014/07/29/learning-theories-and-online-learning/

Tan, Seng C. and Hung, D. (2003). Title Beyond information pumping: Creating a constructivist  e – learning environment Author(s) Seng Chee Tan and David Hung Source Educational Technology, 42 (5), 48 – 54 Published by Educational Technology Publications This document may be used for private study or research purpose only. Copyright © 2003 by Educational Technology Publications, Inc. This article was originally published in Educational Technology , Vol. 42 No. 5 , pp. 48 – 54 . Archived with permission of t he publisher. Beyond Information Pumping: Creating a Constructivist E-Learning Environment [Scholarly project]. Retrieved September 29, 2016, from https://repository.nie.edu.sg/bitstream/10497/4735/1/ET-42-5-48_a.pdf

Leave a Reply

